#MOItalks: ‘Basic Is Trending!’

About a month ago I bought a magazine on a political topic. I’ve been watching it for a long long time in the shops, and I very much admired the cover, the cartoons, apart from the topics that concern its editors. When I bought it for the first time I leafed through it only to see it quickly, I was quite impressed. Then I read the contents, which, frankly, was not so long considering the volume of the magazine itself. I think there were about 5 articles, including interviews and simple reflections and researches from others. The themes for the United States, mainly Trump, the case of France and the new president, as well as topics related to Bulgaria. The magazine covers everything that is being discussed right now.

The other thing that impressed me too is the very style of writing and expression – many metaphors, a rich vocabulary, a very good knowledge of the meaning of words and easy use in transmission meanings. I have always admired people who are educated and who know how to express themselves and their thoughts.

I personally have never been a supporter of political affairs, I have not interacted so much, I am not familiar with presidents, governments, parliaments, left-wing, right-wing. The reason I buy this magazine is to enrich my own vocabulary, to develop my thoughts and to educate myself on this subject. After reading the first article, I realized that things were very closely related.

It’s not even about politics, everything has very deep roots.

If a blogger does not like to write and express himself, that is, to be a half writer, if you ask me he is simply not a blogger. And I define myself as a sum of both because I love to write, to think about any topics, to get to the root of the truth, to develop my own thesis, to present my arguments. Reading an article after an article, ideas for posts just overflow into my head. There are so many things I want to comment here with you, to express my own opinion and to hear yours.

The first thing that arose in my mind was this expression – ‘Basic is trending’. From the subject of politics, I tied it to a deeper level and I personally discovered a very great truth. It is sad to say honestly, but things are so, and there is hardly a need to say that in order for there to be a change we must start it.

Bulgaria is a small country on the Balkan Peninsula in Europe. Our history is very ancient and is filled with many obstacles. 500 years we have been under Ottoman rule, which is one of the main reasons for our development to begin later. We needed a lot of time to catch up with countries such as France, England, the US, while developing economically, politically, educationally, and so on. But here we are, here and now, in the 21st century, we are looking at what is going on abroad and stealing ideas to develop in the right direction.

Have you noticed this ‘copy-paste’ process?

\It is a function of the computer, but now is just a way of living.

People look at what is happening elsewhere and start copying without thinking about it, is it good for them, do they benefit from it and so on.
The situation I observe is the following, and I am sorry cuz me and you, we both are part of it in one way or another. I will list this very chaotic, for which I apologize, but I’m sure you will understand what I mean.

It is currently fashionable to be a vegetarian or vegan. If it had been a good mission for protecting animal lives years ago, but it is just modern today. It has been transformed into a type of religion that many follow. And they do not even understand that the main goal is a humane attitude and a healthy lifestyle. Yes, I also define myself as a person who does not love meat, that is, I am a vegetarian, but that is just a DEFINITION. I do not preach this, I do not make people stop eating meat, nor do I try to parade with it. In my eyes things are so – I am a vegetarian, you are a vegan, and my best friend loves meat. Now imagine this sentence in the following way – I am a writer, you are a journalist, and my best friend is a psychologist. Can you see? Different people, different tastes and interests. Follow your heart, and do not look at what others are doing.

The situation with fashion is just the same. Every year, designers move their minds and become aware of the best models. Here again things are on this principle. No matter if people really like that garment, accessory, shoes, they buy it and carry it. And when you look at the sides, you see clones that are almost alike. Soon I will write more about the fashion itself, trends, designers, etc.

At the cosmetic level – microblocking eyebrows, large lips, contoured face, matting products, big lashes, highlighter, long nails – an industry with incredible marketing thinking. Congratulations! But girls are so much alike to each other that it’s just not even real. I include the topic with the gym. An hourglass ( or sandglass, sand clock ) shape of the body – if you do not look like this, people ( mostly boys ) will hardly notice you. Big bottom and tits, little waist – this is trending now.

Summer is here, the weather is great and people go to the pool. Here’s what I see – almost the same swimsuits, body shapes, hairstyles, glasses, donut and flamingo belts ( and I like them but they are so basic so I’m getting tired of them ).

One day I even thought that even reading book some people just turned into fashion. You can often see pictures of people reading something inspirational, but whether people educate themselves or read because everyone is reading – no one knows. And when I said pictures, I can not overcome the subject with blogging and photography. Increasingly, I see an identical view of the photos – white and black, monochronic, minimalist, marble details, golden details, lights, inspirational inscriptions, cosmetics, clothes, food, decoration plants, sunset, sunrise, legs on the bed, coffee, breakfast in bed, Iphone, macbooks, etc. – when I am scrolling through my Instagram, the photos are pretty often alike. I also like clean things, I like marble, but it’s just trending. Because now it’s marble, then would be wood, then a metal, finally pictures on the grass and all will be the same and everyone will follow the example. I am done with this.

People are part of the crowd. I myself am part of this mass, and sometimes it is difficult for me to be different and to protect my own interests. We are surrounded by it, and we sink into it. But I am so fed up with this situation.

I become increasingly aware that advertising is very dangerous. When a product reaches the world market, then it becomes scary. Do you remember those spinners? Who does not have a spinner? Even we have 2 of them because my sister has seen her classmates playing with a spinner and she decided that she wants one too.

 

So we all turn into a bunch of people who watch what’s in the mood right now, what is trending right now. This thing frightens me and despairs me, because years ago people wanted to change the world and show their own thinking, their ideas, their discoveries.

And now we all are like a herd of sheep following its leader.

We slowly and gloriously sink.

We lose our own color, turning into a gray spot like everyone else.

We lose our own potential, worried that someone will make fun of us because of our thinking.

We lose ourselves just because we look at others and we think they are more than us.

And when we think about it, everywhere we read to be ourselves, to follow our dreams, not to surrender … But what are we actually doing?

We turn into walking individuals that do not live well, just simply exist.

But we are in a period of evolution and new discoveries. I have made my discovery, which is regrettably terrible, but it is a reality.

Are you ready to change something in yourself? Are you ready to overcome the gray mass and be what you are?

I dare you.

Basic is trending but you have to bang it!

XOXO,

MOI

5 thoughts on “#MOItalks: ‘Basic Is Trending!’

  1. Wow. I am speechless. I couldn’t have said it any better.
    Sometimes I think to myself, I’m lucky to have experienced ‘life’ before all these chaos. I mean, we didn’t have anything in the early 90’s. I have spent most of my afternoons playing games in the streets. I didn’t care so much about what I wear or how my hair looks like or how many likes I get on Instagram. That was life then until now where everything is staged, curated and spurious. And the sad truth is at one point, we are all victims of this mentality.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! This is wonderful! I should start reading more it will be great for my vocabulary too! And you said it all here. We definitely have to live truly and not just walk around and do nothing with our lives! :*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the points you raise here. Agree with you on the trends especially with Instagram. It’s starting to get boring when I see so many feeds that look identical including my own. But that’s what social media has done I guess…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

